“Behold, I make all things new!”

OFI has a great quote from Spurgeon here.   It’s about finding your joy in Christ, the only source of all lasting joy.  Note that I’m not saying that you can’t find joy in things here on earth… Far from it.  You can find a short-lived joy in the things of the world, which do not satisfy (see Ecclesiastes, or any believer whom God has chastened because of their love for the things of this world).  You can also find real joy in things received from Christ while on this earth – such as your spouse – things received from and blessed by Him. 

If you haven’t already, may you begin to find lasting joy in Christ this year!  It is worth all that you have and are in exchange.

4 Comments

  1. I feel like I am in the school for this right now. Is this a life long school…learning to find our joy in God and wrestling with the tension of being thankful and finding joy in his gifts because they are from him, rather than because we desire them more than him?

    a growing disciple

  2. Yes, I think it is, Jessica! “Not that I have already obtained this or am already perfect, but I press on to make it my own, because Christ Jesus has made me his own.” There’s always room for growth. We are so easily distracted. The distractions become different over time as we mature, but I believe that they will always be there. We can even, as you say, be distracted by His gifts and not see past them to His loving hand.

    Have you ever read Perelandra by C.S. Lewis? It’s one of my favorite books by Lewis. It explores the topic of obedience out of love for the One who commands…

    I haven’t been over to your blog in a while – I hope things are going well!

  3. I’ll have to look into reading that book. It’s sounds good. I haven’t written in quite awhile. I constantly have ideas, but then there seems to be too many thoughts to write them all out. This will have to be a discipline I grow in, especially sense I am really ministered to by learning to articulate what God is teaching me. Things are both hard and good at the same time. Thanks for replying. Blessings Lee and say hi to your lovely wife for me :-).

  4. I have a similar problem with writing new posts – and you’re right about the blessings which come from taking the time to work out those thoughts!

    I will indeed, and she is indeed 🙂

    Blessings to you, too!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

