Thoughts on some verses from Job

I started reading through Job last week in my RttBiaY program. Job can be tough – mixed in with the often dubious wisdom and advice of his three friends and Job’s own self righteousness, there is real wisdom and truth. Figuring out which is which isn’t always straightforward.

Here are a couple of verses which I read this morning which stood out to me. Familiar concepts, to be sure – especially if you’ve ever read Proverbs:

Job 24:15 The eye of the adulterer also waits for(DR) the twilight, saying, ‘No(DS) eye will see me’; and he veils his face. (ESV)

Job 28:28 And He said to man,’ Behold,(CJ) the fear of the Lord, that is wisdom, and to(CK) turn away from evil is understanding.’ (ESV)

Good checks on my motivation and attitude toward any sin in my life: do I turn away from it and show that I’m growing in wisdom (by fearing God more than man, by loving Him more than my sin) and understanding? Am I seeking to bring any hidden sin into the light, or am I content – no, eager – to keep it in the darkness? (Again – do I fear God or man more?)

[Update: May 20, 2008 – I finished reading Job this morning.  In retrospect, I think that much of the difficulty I encountered in the past when reading Job was due to not reading it all the way through in a relatively short amount of time – a few sittings, at the most.  Having done so this time, I find that it isn’t as hard as I remembered to discern the godly from the human wisdom…. Or, perhaps, by God’s grace, I’m growing a little bit in understanding and ability to discern the two.  May I always give Him the glory for any insight I gain when reading the Word!]

2 Comments

  1. Yes, it is hard to be fighting sin with the right motive. Having the right motive is also a battle. Do I really love God? Or just fear men?

  2. Very true, Ed! Hopefully we don’t get stuck in an introspective spiral which results in never getting around to killing the sin!

    Also, see my update to my the original post… (In case you’re following my blog using an RSS reader…)


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

