Sarah laughed…

… after Abraham also laughed (Gen. 17:17) when God again told him he would have the son (and eventual innumerable descendants) God promised him. Then Sarah, who was listening from the tent to Abraham talking with his angelic/theophonic guests, and

12 Therefore Sarah laughed within herself, saying, “After I have grown old, shall I have pleasure, my lord being old also?”
13 And the LORD said to Abraham, “Why did Sarah laugh, saying, ‘Shall I surely bear a child, since I am old?’ 14 Is anything too hard for the LORD? – Genesis 18:12-14a (NKJV)

Instead of a harsh rebuke for them both, even after Sarah denied laughing (vs. 15), Abraham was reminded of God’s awesome power! Is anything to hard for the LORD? What a wonderful reminder!

[I started a Bible reading program using Pocket e-Sword – 6 days a week, 4 chapters a day. So far (i.e., since Tuesday), I’ve only had to catch up once – not bad, I guess. I’ve wanted to do a “read through the Bible in a year” program for some time, but haven’t ever had the discipline. Using a PDA should help since it’s so convenient; we’ll see how it goes!]

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

