Initial thoughts on Isaiah 19:22

I woke up late today and didn’t do my quiet time, so I ended up re-reading Isaiah 19 by “accident” over a Chipotle burrito (yum!) today at lunch when I should have been in chapter 21. Part of the reason I didn’t realize I had already read 19 was because I recently started using Pocket e-Sword on my iPAQ, with which I’m trying out the ESV. Plus, I don’t usually use my iPAQ when I do my quiet time. Anyway, between the new translation and the new tool (which I very much like so far!), I managed to land on the wrong chapter.

I’m glad I did! I somehow glossed over this verse the other day:

Is. 19:22 The LORD will strike Egypt, striking but healing; so they will return to the LORD, and He will respond to them and will heal them. (NAS)

a footnote for which lead to:

Is. 30:26 The light of the moon will be as the light of the sun, and the light of the sun will be seven times brighter, like the light of seven days, on the day the LORD binds up the fracture of His people and heals the bruise He has inflicted. (NAS)

All this adds a stunning dimension to the familiar verse in Hebrews:

Hebrews 12:11 All discipline for the moment seems not to be joyful, but sorrowful; yet to those who have been trained by it, afterwards it yields the peaceful fruit of righteousness. (NAS)

Based on the verses in Isaiah, God’s discipline can be quite physical in nature, requiring healing. Of course, one can easily spiritualize this discipline both in terms of the wounds and the healing, but the verses plainly speak of physical discipline. But 19:22 seems to go even a step further – there the discipline of God itself seems to be causing healing – which would certainly seem to be a spiritual healing. This would seem to parallel these verses in Malachi:

Malachi 3:2 “But who can endure the day of His coming? And who can stand when He appears? For He is like a refiner’s fire and like fullers’ soap. 3 “He will sit as a smelter and purifier of silver, and He will purify the sons of Levi and refine them like gold and silver, so that they may present to the LORD offerings in righteousness. (NAS)

I’ll have to look more at Isaiah 19:22, but for now, I’m very glad I took another look at the chapter – it’s a wonderful reminder of how God’s discipline, though painful, works for my good – and I’m very grateful for that reminder at this time… Lord, may I praise You even in the midst of Your disciplinary actions!

2 Comments

  1. Very true. Much akin to severe mercy.

  2. Danny – Are you specifically referring to the book? I haven’t read it yet, though I think I actually own a copy… The gist of the book is that the loss of his wife enabled him to see the idol of his love for her and give himself completely to God, right? Severe, indeed!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

