Memory verses: killing sin

I memorized these verses a month or so ago – they are great ones to learn to help with killing sin:

1 Blessed be the Lord, my Rock, Who trains my hands for war, and my fingers for battle–
2 My lovingkindness and my fortress, my high tower and my deliverer, my shield and the One in whom I take refuge, Who subdues my people under me.
3 Lord, what is man, that You take knowledge of him? Or the son of man, that You are mindful of him?
4 Man is like a breath; his days are like a passing shadow.
Ps 144:1-4 (NKJV)

Killing sin is a war! A war against the “old man”, a pitched battle for the heart and mind. But God, my Rock (I don’t know if this is supposed to be a foreshadowing of Jesus, but it certainly doesn’t hurt to think so!) trains my hands for war and my fingers for battle! Of course, David was talking about real, physical warfare, but this is a beautiful verse to apply to spiritual warfare. He follows the first verse with the comfort of the second – and then a reminder of who we are compared to God. Nothing like some good perspective when thinking about how much He can help in our time of need!

Awesome verses.

3 Comments

  1. These are great verses. It is such a blessing that God has given us the Scriptures. Personally, I often take them for granted, but it truly is amazing. Because God has spoken to us.

    I think that it’s a legit typological connection there, also.

  2. Indeed!

    Re: the typological connection: do you mean the Rock=Jesus one, or physical->spiritual warfare? (I’m not sure if the 2nd qualifies as drawing a typological connection. If it doesn’t, then you’re obviously talking about the Rock=Jesus statement…)

  3. […] Posts Exodus 4:24-26 – a difficult passageMemory verses: killing sinThoughts on Isaiah 61:1-4Baited [sic] breathThoughts on Isaiah […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

