Crepuscular

I finally looked up crepuscular last night. I seem to remember first encountering this word in the name of a radio program I used to listen to when I was in college – probably a jazz program on KCPR or KCBX – that I think was called “Morning Becomes Crepuscular”… But I could easily be imagining that. [9/13/07: I realized last night as I was falling asleep that I was thinking of “Morning Becomes Eclectic”, a syndicated radio show from KCRW. So I still don’t know where I first encountered crepuscular…]

At any rate, when I was looking up some related words (encountered when Jenann and I watched “Caves” from the planet earth series – which looks very cool on our spiffy new LCD TV), I came across crepuscular again, and I finally looked it up.

I initially found this page on Wikipedia, which describes the zoological use of the term. This was interesting enough, since I didn’t know before that there were animals which fell in between the categorizations of diurnal and nocturnal. Furthermore, there are 2 types of crepuscular animals, those who are active at dawn, and those who are active at dusk (see the Wikipedia page for more details).

But just a few minutes ago, I noticed the link at the top of the zoological entry to the page on the atmospheric optical effect, crepuscular rays. I had no idea that there was a name for this effect, something that I’m sure has been enjoyed by every sighted person who has ever walked the earth. I also didn’t know that they are also known as “God’s rays” – though I can see why they are called that.

Have fun with crepuscular!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

